Paul M. & Dorothy E. Seebohm Visiting Lectureship in Allergy

Kathleen Sullivan, MD, PhD
Chief, Allergy Division
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia

Seebohm Lecture - Internal Medicine Grand Rounds

SARS CoV2 and lessons from the immune system

Thursday, September 30, 2021 -- 12:00 Noon

View the recorded lecture (hawkid required).

Keynote Presentation - Allergy Conference

Navigating the complexity of inborn errors of immunity, infections and not quite infections

Friday, October 1, 2021

Virtual Lecture via Zoom

About Dr. Sullivan

Dr. Sullivan trained at UCSF and Johns Hopkins and has been at the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia since 1993.  She is the Division Chief of Allergy Immunology, and oversees one of the largest North American clinics for inborn errors of immunity.  She is a past president of the Clinical Immunology Society and has served on the Basic and Clinical Immunology Committee of the American Academy of Allergy, Asthma and Immunology (AAAAI) and the AAAAI Board of Directors.  She is on the steering committee of the USIDNET, the North American registry of patients with primary immune deficiencies.  She co-edits Stiehm’s textbook on Immune Deficiencies. Her basic science research interests include understanding inflammation and the mechanism of regulating gene expression in inflammatory diseases.  Her clinical interests include the study of patients with DiGeorge syndrome/Chromosome 22q11.2 deletion syndrome, variables related to outcomes of patients with primary immunodeficiencies, and the pathogenesis of early onset inflammatory bowel disease.

The Seebohm Legacy

The University of Iowa Department of Internal Medicine Paul M. and Dorothy E. Seebohm Visiting Lectureship in Allergy was created in 1993 to provide a special educational opportunity for medical students, residents, and fellows in allergic and immunologic diseases. Each year, a prominent investigator in the field of allergy and immunology is invited to The University of Iowa. These visits are supported by the Allergy Education Endowment established by the Seebohms and supplemented by gifts from the Pat Carr Allergy Fund, the Evelyn Dulin Memorial Fund, Mrs. Karen (Wormley) Phippard, James F. Phippard, Mrs. Karen (Seebohm) Jackson, Mr. Jack Wormley, and the late Mr. Jack D. Jackson and Mrs. Chloressa Wormley.

Paul M. Seebohm, MD, was Professor in the Department of Internal Medicine at the University of Iowa College of Medicine. He was Director of the first UI Allergy-Immunology Division and also served as Executive Associate Dean in the UI College of Medicine, and was a past-president of The American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology.

Dr. and Mrs. Seebohm have been kind, generous, and ardent supporters of The University of Iowa, the College of Medicine, the Department of Internal Medicine and, especially, the Division of Immunology.

Previous Seebohm Lecturers:

2019 Robert Naclerio, MD, FACS
Professor, Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery
Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, Maryland
2018 Emma Guttman-Yassky, MD, PhD
The Sol and Clara Kest Professor of Dermatology
Vice Chair for Research at the Department of Dermatology
Director, Center for Excellence in Eczema
Head, Laboratory for Inflammatory Skin Diseases
Icahn Medical School at Mount Sinai Medical Center, New York
2017 Robert A. Wood, MD
Professor of Pediatrics, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Professor of International Health, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
Director, Pediatric Allergy and Immunology; Director, Pediatric Clinical Research Unit, Johns Hopkins University
President-Elect, American Academy of Allergy Asthma and Immunology
2016 David B. Peden, MD, MS
Harry S. Andrews Distinguished Professor of Pediatrics
Senior Associate Dean for Translational Research
Associate Chair for Research & Chief, Division of Pediatric Allergy, Immunology & Rheumatology, Department of Pediatrics
Director, Center for Environmental Medicine, Asthma & Lung Biology, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine
2015 Stanley J. Szefler, MD
Director, Pediatric Asthma Research Program
The Breathing Institute, Children's Hospital Colorado
2014 Stacie M. Jones, MD
Professor of Pediatrics; Chief, Allergy and Immunology
Dr. and Mrs. Leeman King Chair in Pediatric Allergy
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, Arkansas Children's Hospital
2013 Mariana C. Castells, MD
Associate Professor, Allergy and Immunology, Harvard Medical School
Associate Physician, Brigham and Women's Hospital
2012 Steven M. Holland, MD
Chief, Laboratory of Clinical Infectious Diseases
Chief, Immunopathogenesis Section, LCID
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, Bethesda, MD
2011 Thomas B. Casale, MD
Professor of Medicine; Chief of Allergy/Immunology
Creighton University, Omaha, Nebraska
2010 Daniel Kastner, MD, PhD
Scientific Director, Intramural Research Program, National Human Genome Research Institute
National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Maryland
2009 Jordan Orange, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
Director, Jeffrey Modell Diagnostic Center for Primary Immunodeficiency
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
2008 Dale T. Umetsu, MD, PhD
Prince Turki bin Abdul Aziz al Saud Professor of Pediatrics, Department of Pediatrics, Harvard Medical School
Senior Associate, Division of Immunology/Allergy, Children's Hospital Boston
2007 Dhavalkumar Patel, MD, PhD
Eminent Professor, Dept of Medicine, UNC-Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Head, Autoimmunity and Transplantation Research Basel at the Novartis Institutes for Biomedical Research, Basel, Switzerland
2006 Donald Y.M. Leung, MD, PhD
Professor of Pediatrics, University of Colorado Medical School
Edelstein Family Chair of Pediatric Allergy-Immunology
National Jewish Medical and Research Center, Denver, Colorado
2005 David P. Huston, MD
Cullen Professor of Immunology
Trammell Chair in Allergy and Immunology, Departments of Medicine and Immunology
Director, Biology of Inflammation Center, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas
2004 Gerald J. Gleich, MD
Professor of Dermatology & Medicine
University of Utah, Salt Lake City, Utah
2003 Rafeul Alam, MD, PhD
Veda and Chauncey Ritter Chair in Immunology
Professor and Director, Division of Allergy & Immunology
National Jewish Medical and Research Center, Denver, Colorado
2002 Lawrence Schwartz, MD
Charles & Evelyn Thomas Professor of Medicine
Chair, Division of Rheumatology, Allergy & Immunology
Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond, Virginia
2001 Dean D. Metcalfe, MD
Chief, Laboratory of Allergic Diseases, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Maryland
2000 K. Frank Austen, MD
Theodore Bevier Bayles Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
Director, Inflammation & Allergic Diseases, Research Section, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts
1999 W. James Metzger, MD
Distinguished Research Professor of Medicine
Head, Section of Allergy, Asthma and Immunology
East Carolina University, Greenville, North Carolina
1998 William R. Henderson, Jr, MD
Professor of Medicine; Head, Allergy Section
University of Washington, Seattle, Washington
1997 Philip S. Norman, MD
Professor of Medicine
The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore, Maryland
1996 William W. Busse, MD
Professor of Medicine; Head, Division of Allergy-Immunology
University of Wisconsin Medical School, Madison, Wisconsin
1995 Raif S. Geha, MD
Prince Turki bin Abdul Aziz Professor of Pediatrics, Harvard Medical School
Chief, Division of Immunology, Children’s Hospital Medical Center, Boston, Massachusetts
1994 Rebecca H. Buckley, MD
James Buren Sidbury Professor, of Pediatrics and Immunology
Duke University, Durham, North Carolina
1993 Henry N. Claman, MD
Professor of Medicine, Microbiology and Immunology
University of Colorado, Denver, Colorado