November 15, 2016 Sanjeev Patil, Bharat Kumar, and Namrata Singh secured the Knowledge Bowl trophy at this year’s annual meeting of the American College of Rheumatology / Association of Rheumatology Professionals in Washington, D.C. for the third time!
November 8, 2016 A newly released basic science study of Roux-en-Y gastric bypass (RYGB) by Dr. Mohamad Mokadem, Assistant Professor of Gastroenterology and Hepatology, suggests that a functioning circadian clock, or sleeping at night and being awake during the day, can help patients achieve a higher amount of weight loss following the surgery.
November 7, 2016 Dr. Mike Welsh, Dr. Alejandro Pezzulo, and Dr. Lee Joseph receive PBI Convergence Grant.
November 1, 2016 Dr. Dale Abel has been announced as a member of the Class of 2015 of the National Academy of Medicine.
October 27, 2016 At the recent meeting of the American Clinical and Climatological Association (ACCA) in Hot Springs, Virginia, Dr. Joseph Zabner, Director of the Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care, and Occupational Medicine, was inducted as one of its newest members.
October 28, 2016 Eli Perencevich, MD, MS, Named Associate Chair for Clinical and Health Services Research
October 18, 2016 Gwen Beck has been awarded the UIP Patient Satisfaction and Service Excellence Award.
October 12, 2016 Dr. Kantima Phisitkul, Clinical Assistant Professor of Nephrology, recently received the 2015-16 Mobile Clinic Distinguished Faculty Award for her volunteer work with the University of Iowa Mobile Clinic.
October 11, 2106 Residency Program Director Dr. Manish Suneja has been awarded the Laureate Award by the Iowa Chapter of the American College of Physicians.
October 4, 2016 For more than two decades, the Continuing Medical Education conference Progress in Internal Medicine offered a series of workshops and seminars to connect with local regional health care professionals and showcase the best of the Department’s cutting-edge clinical care.