Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care


September 29, 2016 Kamal Rahmouni, PhD, Professor of Pharmacology and Internal Medicine, has been awarded the 2016 Paul Korner Award by the International Society of Hypertension (ISH)
September 14, 2016 Dr. Ryan Boudreau, Assistant Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine, has been awarded one of four new grants from the Fraternal Order of Eagles Diabetes Research Center.
September 13, 2016 Immunotherapies direct a patient’s immune system to seek out and destroy cancer. This seemingly simple idea of using the body’s natural defense mechanisms to fight cancer has been around for more than a century, but only recently has an understanding of how cancer and the immune system interact advanced sufficiently for the concept to achieve clinical success.
August 29, 2016 Dr. Joseph Szot has been named the Medical Director for Continuing Medical Education (CME) in the Carver College of Medicine, taking over for the recently retired Dr. Joel Gordon, who served in this role since 2006.
August 26, 2016 Dr. Richard Hoffman is one of two researchers at the University of Iowa to receive a Special Interests Project (SIP) grant from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. SIP grants are funded through the CDC’s Prevention Research Center.
August 24, 2016 The Department’s Medicine Specialty Clinic (MSC) tracks its patient satisfaction with the help of Press-Ganey evaluations patients complete. In the last quarter, compared to the previous quarter, the MSC has seen significant growth in one category and nearly achieved its goal in another.
August 19, 2016 Leaders of Holden Comprehensive Cancer Center at the University of Iowa have announced the center has received its third renewal as a comprehensive cancer center from the National Cancer Institute (NCI), part of the National Institutes of Health.
August 8, 2016 The Department of Internal Medicine is pleased to announce that Kimberly S. Staffey, MD, has accepted the position of Vice Chair for Clinical Programs for the Department of Internal Medicine.
August 4, 2016 Dr. Steve Lentz and Dr. Firas Zahr shared a byline recently in an editorial published by the New England Journal of Medicine.
August 2, 2016 Dr. Hilary Mosher has been appointed Program Director of the Iowa City VA Quality Scholars (VAQS) Fellowship Program. The VAQS program consists of eight sites across the United States, with an affiliate site in Toronto, Canada.