Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

The Roy J. Carver Charitable Trust has committed a transformational $45 million grant to the University of Iowa that allowed for the creation of a comprehensive and cross-disciplinary neuroscience center within the Carver College of Medicine. Led by Ted Abel, PhD, the Iowa Neuroscience Institute conducts research to find the causes of — and preventions, treatments, and cures for — the many diseases that affect the brain and nervous system.


Pain Research Program Seminar - Benedict Kolber, PhD

Wednesday, March 6, 2024, 9:00am to 10:00am

"Critical and dynamic regulation of pain by the amygdala in the brain" Presented by Benedict J. Kolber, PhD Associate Professor Department of Neuroscience, Center for Advanced Pain Studies University of Texas, Dallas

Big Ten Neuroscience Seminar Series

Friday, March 15, 2024, 12:00pm to 1:30pm

The Big Ten Neuroscience Seminar Series highlights trainees and junior faculty from groups that are traditionally underrepresented in neuroscience. We meet virtually once each month—featuring one Big Ten institution—for presentations and discussion/networking. Seminars are scheduled for afternoons on the third Friday of each month. Zoom link is provided by the host institution. If not added in the event listing, please email iowa-neuroscience-institute@uiowa.edu the week of the seminar to...

Psychological and Brain Sciences Spence Lecture: Elizabeth Buffalo, University of Washington

Friday, March 22, 2024, 3:30pm

Psychological and Brain Sciences Spence Lecture. Elizabeth Buffalo, Wayne E Crill Endowed Professor, and Chair, Department of Physiology and Biophysics, University of Washington. [Dr. Buffalo's colloquium has been moved to the Fall 2024 Semester.] The Spence Lecture Series is sponsored by the Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences in honor of the late Professor Kenneth W. Spence, chair of the department from 1942-1964.

Neuroscience & Pharmacology Seminar Series - David M. Holtzman, PhD

Tuesday, March 26, 2024, 10:30am to 11:30am

Presented by David M. Holtzman, PhD Barbara Burton and Reuben M. Morriss III Distinguished Professor Scientific Director, Hope Center for Neurological Disorders Dept. of Neurology Washington University School of Medicine

Pain Research Program Seminar - Eric Kaiser, MD, PhD

Wednesday, April 3, 2024, 9:00am to 10:00am

Presented by Eric Kaiser, MD, PhD Assistant Professor Department of Neurology Perelman School of Medicine University of Pennsylvania