Toggle Search

Faculty and Staff Directory

Administration

Administration Contact
Christopher Cooper, MD
Senior Associate Dean for Medical Education
christopher-cooper@uiowa.edu 

David Asprey, PhD, PA-C
Assistant Dean
david-asprey@uiowa.edu 

James Choi, MD
Assistant Dean
james-choi@uiowa.edu

Amal Shibli-Rahal, MD
Assistant Dean
amal-rahhal@uiowa.edu
Jessica Dlask
(319) 335-8278
jessica-dlask@uiowa.edu 
 
David Etler
(319) 335-8058
david-etler@uiowa.edu

Deb Henricks
(319) 335-6703
debra-henricks@uiowa.edu

Admissions

Admissions Contact
Kathi Huebner, MA
Director of Admissions

Amy A'Hearn, MS
Assistant Director of Admissions
(319) 335-8057
amy-ahearn@uiowa.edu

Judith Lehman
Admissions and Enrollment Associate
(319) 335-6825
judith-lehman@uiowa.edu

Daniel Schnall, MA
Admissions Process Coordinator
(319) 335-8052
daniel-schnall@uiowa.edu
Main phone: (800) 493-7415 or (319) 335-8052
Fax: (319) 335-8049

Deb Henricks
(319) 335-6703
debra-henricks@uiowa.edu

Stephanie Whitlock
(319) 335-9449
stephanie-whitlock@uiowa.edu

Medical Student Counseling Center

Medical Student Counseling Center Contact
Doreen Drack Thomas, MA, LMHC, NCC 
Director, Senior Staff Counselor
doreen-thomas@uiowa.edu

David Towle, PhD
Senior Staff Counselor
david-towle@uiowa.edu

Eran E. Hanke, PhD, LMHC 
Senior Staff Counselor
eran-hanke@uiowa.edu

Elizabeth Schacht, PhD, ARNP
Senior Staff Counselor
schachte@healthcare.uiowa.edu
 
Sandy Tomas
(319) 335-8056
sandra-tomas@uiowa.edu

Curriculum

Year Management Staff Contact
First year, first semester Carrie Bernat, MA, MSW
Curriculum Manager
(319) 335-7641
carrie-bernat@uiowa.edu
Kathy Foss
(319) 335-8006
kathy-foss@uiowa.edu
First year, second semester Laina Edwards, MME
Curriculum Manager
(319) 335-6711
laina-edwards@uiowa.edu 
Sharon Kleinau
(319) 335-6972
sharon-kleinau@uiowa.edu  
Second year, first semester Jeff Emrich, MS
Associate Director, Pre-Clinical Curriculum 
(319) 335-8054
jeff-emrich@uiowa.edu
Kris Dawkins
(319) 335-7526
kristine-dawkins@uiowa.edu
Performance Based Assessment Ellen Franklin, MA, MBA
Clinical Skills Assessment Manager
(319) 335-6787
ellen-franklin@uiowa.edu
Kate Jochum, MA
(319) 384-3027
katherine-jochum@uiowa.edu

Jill Rickerson, MS
Instructional Services Specialist
(319) 335-7004
jill-rickerson@uiowa.edu
Clinical curriculum, Ambulatory Practice Module Hugh Hansen, MS
Associate Director, Clinical Curriculum
(319) 335-7691
hugh-hansen@uiowa.edu
Brittney Steapp
(319) 335-6824
brittney-steapp@uiowa.edu

Learning Communities

Community Community Leadership Contact
All Megan McDowell, MA
Learning Communities Coordinator
(319) 384-1725
megan-mcdowell@uiowa.edu
 
Bean Peter Densen, MD
Community Director
(319) 335-9825 

Carrie Bernat, MA, MSW
Community Manager
(319) 335-7641
carrie-bernat@uiowa.edu
Kathy Foss
(319) 335-8006
kathy-foss@uiowa.edu
Boulware Katie Iverson, PA-C
Community Director
(319) 335-7587

Jeff Emrich, MS
Community Manager
(319) 335-8054
jeff-emrich@uiowa.edu 
Kris Dawkins
(319) 335-7526
kristine-dawkins@uiowa.edu
Flocks David Swanson, MD
Community Director
(319) 335-9631
 

Ellen Franklin, MA, MBA
Community Manager
(319) 335-6787
ellen-franklin@uiowa.edu  
Kate Jochum
(319) 384-3027
katherine-jochum@uiowa.edu
McCowen Teri Thomsen, MD, JD
Community Director
(319) 335-7953
 
 
Laina Edwards, MME
Community Manager
(319) 335-6711
laina-edwards@uiowa.edu 
Sharon Kleinau
(319) 335-6972
sharon-kleinau@uiowa.edu

Financial Services

Financial Services Contact
Linda G. Bissell, BA
Director of Financial Services
(319) 335-8059
linda-bissell@uiowa.edu 

Chris Roling, BME
Assistant Director of Financial Services
(319) 353-3092
chris-roling@uiowa.edu
Linda Birkhofer
(319) 335-8059
linda-birkhofer@uiowa.edu

Global Programs

Global Programs Contact
Robin Paetzold, MBA
Director of Global Programs
(319) 353-5762

Deanna Nielson, Ph.D.
Special Projects Coordinator
(319) 335-8573
deanna-nielson@uiowa.edu
Stephanie Whitlock
(319) 335-9449
stephanie-whitlock@uiowa.edu

Medical Student Research Program

Medical Student Research Program Contact
Robert Roghair, M.D.
Director, Medical Student Research Program

Deanna Nielson, Ph.D.
Special Projects Coordinator
(319) 335-8573
deanna-nielson@uiowa.edu  
Stephanie Whitlock
(319) 335-9449
stephanie-whitlock@uiowa.edu

Registrar

Registrar Contact
Damien Ihrig
Registrar
(319) 335-8046
damien-ihrig@uiowa.edu
Marcia Hopp
(319) 335-8053
marcia-hopp@uiowa.edu 

Annette Griffin
(319) 335-6823
annette-griffin@uiowa.edu

Writing Program

Writing Program Contact
Jason T. Lewis, MFA
Writing Program Director
(319) 335-8051
jason-t-lewis@uiowa.edu  
David Etler
(319) 335-8058
david-etler@uiowa.edu