Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

Stinski Undergraduate Research Fellowship

The Stinski Undergraduate Research Fellowship is an endowed fund created with proceeds from a successful patent awarded to Professor Mark F. Stinski. Professor Stinski was on the faculty of the Department of Microbiology from 1973-2011 and continues his affiliation with the Department in Emeritus status. The fellowship's purpose is to support undergraduates in pursuit of research in the field of microbiology. As a result of the generosity of Professor Stinski, the Department of Microbiology is able to provide up to two fellowships each year.


  • Stipend of $1049.00/month for up to 12 months.
  • Fall and spring tuition scholarship for the stipend period.
  • One (1) fellowship will be awarded annually. 


  • Must be an undergraduate student seeking first baccalaureate degree in Microbiology.
  • Must have a minimum 3.0 UI and cumulative GPA.
  • Must be enrolled as a full-time student during the application period.
  • Must continue full-time as an undergraduate student in Microbiology the year of award.
  • Must have Junior status at the time of application.
  • At the time of application, must have arranged with a Microbiology faculty mentor for undergraduate research in their laboratory during the award period and must arrange written confirmation from that faculty mentor sent to undergrad-micro-info@uiowa.edu.
  • Must enroll in undergraduate research (MICR:4161 or MICR:4171) for not less than three credit hours per semester during the fellowship period.
  • Continuation of the award into the second semester is contingent on receiving a grade of B or better in the research course.
  • May not undertake other employment paid by the Department of Microbiology during the term of the fellowship.
  • Must present at the spring Microbiology Undergraduate Poster Session during the year of award.


  • This scholarship is not renewable.

The application process is closed for the 2020/2021 Stinski Undergraduate Research Fellowship.

All applicants must provide a letter of support from a science instructor emailed to undergrad-micro-info@uiowa.edu.

E-mail cynthia-hernandez@uiowa.edu, if you have any issues with accessing the on-line application.

Please address any questions about the Stinski Fellowship to Professor Rich Roller at the followingrichard-roller@uiowa.edu