Dr. Chioma Okeoma was recognized with the Research Innovation and Leadership Award from the Technology Association of Iowa. Her research has led to discoveries that could improve therapies in HIV and breast cancer. Okeoma was one of eight women leaders in the fields of science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) to be honored as winners of the Ninth Annual Des Moines Area Community College Iowa Women of Innovation Awards.
Dr. Gail Bishop, Professor of Microbiology, was selected for this year’s Donald D. Dorfman Research Award from the Holden Comprehensive Cancer Center, at the University of Iowa. She was chosen for the award for her paper entitled “Nuclear TRAF3 is a negative regulator of CREB in B cells,” published this year in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences U.S.A. which furthered her work in lymphoma research. The authors show for the first time that TRAF3 is a resident nucleus protein that associates with the transcriptional regulator cAMP response element binding protein (CREB) in B lymphocytes. Their results identify a new mechanism by which nuclear TRAF3 regulates B-cell survival via inhibition of CREB stability, information highly relevant to the role of TRAF3 in B-cell malignancies. Dr. Bishop was presented with the cash award at a luncheon last week with members of the Dorfman Family in attendance.
Associate Research Scientist, Bishop Laboratory Address: 2219 MERF Phone: (319) 335-7812 Email:
On Wednesday, October 26, 2016, the University of Iowa will host its first giving day, One Day for Iowa! When you give online during One Day for Iowa, you will make a world of difference at the UI. Follow the Giving Opportunities link on our front page and choose "See Additional Options or Give to...
Two new studies from the University of Iowa suggest that gene therapy may be a viable approach for treating or preventing lung disease caused by cystic fibrosis.
Rachel Brouillette successfully defended her thesis titled, "Arenaviruses:glycoproteins, antibodies, and cell entry".
The Carver College of Medicine interviewed Microbiology Professor Willmara Salgado-Pabón for Faculty Focus. She is pictured here (left) with students from the GirlsGoSTEM program last Fall 2015.
The Iowa Biosciences Academy (IBA) would like to formally recognize Dr. Heidi Crosby a post-doctoral researcher in the Department of Microbiology, for completion of an 8-week summer seminar series offered by IBA and certified by the National Research Mentoring Network entitled “Entering Mentoring: A Seminar to Train the Next Generation of Scientists”.
Alfa Herrera successfully defended her thesis titled, "Sphingomyelinase and DNA Biofilm Ligase Activities of Staphylococcus aureus β-toxin Promote Infective Endocarditis and Sepsis”. She worked under the supervision of her mentor Dr. Patrick Schlievert and Herrera is pictured with him.
Alexandra Paharik successfully defended her thesis titled, "Novel roles of staphylococcal proteases and cross talk in biofilm formation and virulence”. She is pictured with her mentor Dr. Alexander Horswill.