Katherine L. Doll Kane successfully defended her thesis titled, "CD8 T cell dependent and independent immunity against Plasmodium following vaccination". She is pictured with her mentor Dr. John Harty.
The 2016 Health Sciences Research Week is a three day event that focuses on graduate research. The following Microbiology graduate students participated in the poster session.
Allison Christiaansen successfully defended her thesis on Thursday, April 14, 2016. Her dissertation is titled, “T Cell Regulation of Acute and Chronic Viral Infection.” She is pictured with her mentor, Dr. Steven Varga.
Wadie Mahauad Fernandez successfully defended his PhD thesis, "Role of Bone Marrow Stromal Antigen 2 (BST-2) in Viral Pathogenesis and Breast Cancer Progression" on March 30, 2016. His mentor is Dr. Chioma Okeoma and he worked in her lab while completing his studies.
Jenna McCracken successfully defended her PhD thesis, "Neutrophil Cell Death in F. tularensis Infection" on Tuesday, January 19, 2016. Jenna is pictured with her mentor, Dr. Lee-Ann Allen.
Menstrual toxic shock syndrome is more common than you might think. That's according to one professor at the University of Iowa, who's been studying TSS for decades.
Thanks to the Ebola epidemic last year, researchers at the UI are making strides toward a cure.
The link between the gut microbiome and obesity seems clear, but just how changes to gut bacteria can cause weight gain is not.
Graduate student Wadie Mahauad-Fernandez, who works in Dr. Chioma Okeoma's lab, recently presented an interactive, hands-on STEM session in Microbiology to a group of 7th-grade students.
A new study led by Dr. Wendy Maury , Professor of Microbiology, suggests that gamma interferon, which is an FDA-approved drug, may have potential as an antiviral therapy to prevent Ebola infection when given either before or after exposure to the virus.