Qiang Shan

Qiang ShanPostdoctoral Research Scholar
Address: 3-701 BSB
Phone: (319) 335-7982
Email: qiang-shan@uiowa.edu

Mentor: Hai-Hui Xue, MD, PhD

Year Entered Into Program: 2014

PhD Institution: University of Chinese Academy of Sciences

Research Description

T cell immunology


Zhang J, Lou X, Yang S, He S, Yang L, Liu M, Zhu H, Shan Q, Su S, Zhan Q, Xu N and Liu S. BAG2 is a target of the c-Myc gene and is involved in cellular senescence via the p21(CIP1) pathway. Cancer Lett. 2012 May 1; 318(1):34-41.

Shan Q, Lou X, Xiao T, Zhang J, Sun H, Gao Y, Cheng S, Wu L, Xu N and Liu S. A cancer/testis antigen microarray to screen autoantibody biomarkers of non-small cell lung cancer. Cancer Lett. 2013 Jan 1; 328(1):160–167.

Sun H, Lou X, Shan Q, Zhang J, Zhu X, Wang Y, Xie Y, Xu N, Liu S. The proteolytic characteristic of cathepsin D for recognition and cleavage of its target proteins. PLoS One. 2013 Jun 20;8(6):e65733.

Chen X*, Shan Q*, Jiang L, Zhu B, Xi X. Quantitative proteomic analysis by iTRAQ for identification of candidate biomarkers in plasma from acute respiratory distress syndrome patients. Biochem Biophys Res Commun. 2013 Nov 8;441(1):1-6. (*co-first author)

Markryan Dwyer, Qiang Shan, Samantha D’Ortona, Rie Maurer, Robert Mitchell, Hanne Olesen, Steffen Thiel, Johannes Huebner, and Mihaela Gadjeva. Cystic Fibrosis Sputum DNA has NETosis characteristics and NET release is regulated by MIF. The Journal of Innate Immunity. J Innate Immun. 2014;6(6):765-79. 

Qiang Shan*, Markryan Dwyer*, Samir Rahman, and Mihaela Gadjeva. Distinct susceptibilities of corneal P. aeruginosa clinical isolates to Neutrophil Extracellular Trap-mediated immunity. Infection and immunity. Infect Immun. 2014 Oct;82(10):4135-43. (*co-first author)


  • 9/2009 Young Investigator Travel Award awarded by Human Proteome Organization (HUPO) 2009 World Congress
  • 12/2009 Second-class Scholarship awarded by Beijing Institute of Genomics, China Academy of Science
  • 12/2010 First-class Scholarship awarded by Beijing Institute of Genomics, China Academy of Science
  • 5/2011 Merit Student awarded by China Academy of Science