Neurology at Iowa: 100 Years of Progress

  • January 1, 2005

    Robert Rodnitzky named Dept. Head

    In 2005, Dr. Robert Rodnitzky served as acting chief and was then appointed as the department's 5th head from 2007 to 2010.  As a movement disorders specialist, Dr. Rodnitzky helped translate developmental drugs into treatments that are used to treat disorders such as Parkinson's Disease.  His dedication helped turn the movement disorders clinic into one of the best in the country.

  • January 1, 2010

    Dr. George Richerson Named Head

    In 2010 the Department appointed Dr. George Richerson as the 6th head.  Dr. Richerson has continued the tradition of leadership by bringing together top minds to understand and treat complex disorders of the nervous system.  He established the department as a collaborative leader in epilepsy, neurogenetic, and neuromuscular research.  Dr. Richerson has also helped create partnerships with other hospitals, and continues to explore frontiers, both old and new, in the field of Neurology.

  • October 16, 2010

    William Talman elected President of the Federation of American Societies of Experimental Biology FASEB

    William Talman, one of the world’s authorities on normal function and diseases of the autonomic nervous system, was President of the Federation of American Societies of Experimental Biology (FASEB) from 2010-2011.

  • June 14, 2016

    Iowa Neuroscience Institute founded

    The Iowa Neuroscience Institute was established in 2016, thanks to a $45 million grant from the Roy J. Carver Charitable Trust and a commitment from leaders at UI Hospitals and Clinics and the Carver College of Medicine. Ted Abel, a renowned scientist and AAAS fellow, was hired to lead the institute, and he has begun assembling a multidisciplinary team of researchers from across the country. Researchers in the institute receive more than $50 million dollars in annual external funding.

  • Group photo of doctors

    June 21, 2019

    Present Day Department

    The Department of Neurology consists of a total of 75 faculty members. This includes 31 full-time faculty members, 28 of whom are clinicians. There are also 17 faculty members with primary appointments in other departments, and faculty members with emeritus or adjunct appointments. These clinicians, scholars and educators are fully committed to providing unrivaled clinical care and training, and to applying advances in basic and translational neuroscience to finding ways to improve the care of patients with neurological disease.

    PDF icon Present Day Department Photo.pdf