Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care


Dr. Samaniego speaks on how to recognize the signs of stroke.
Dr. Zhang wins INI Williams-Cannon Fellowship for neurodegeneration research
In Chicago on April 22, 2023, Michael Shy, MD was elected to the Association of American Physicians. This is an honor achieved by only a small number of physicians on the basis of their accomplishments in their medical field. Congratulations Dr Shy!
Jan Wessel awarded Iowa Mid-Career Faculty Scholar Award.
UI stroke researchers led by Enrique Leira, MD, professor of neurology, and neurosurgery, and Anil Chauhan, PhD, professor of internal medicine, contributed the winning therapy in the rigorous pre-clinical Stroke Preclinical Assessment Network (SPAN) trial for testing cerebroprotective stroke treatments.
Dr. Santiago Ortega-Gutiérrez and Dr. Edgar Samaniego have an article published within The New England Journal of Medicine.
Doctoral candidate, Alex Petrucci, shares her experiences and explorations of her research in sudden unexpected death in epilepsy (SUDEP).
Dr. Gordon Buchanan is granted a CURE Epilepsy Award.
Department of Neurology Research Specialist Nicole Kressin has been selected as the recipient of the 2022 University of Iowa Health Care Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Leadership Award. The award is presented to "an individual and/or group who have exhibited an outstanding committment to...