Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care


University of Iowa Health Care faculty, staff, and students are welcome to attend an investiture ceremony honoring four Carver College of Medicine faculty at 2 p.m. Thursday, Sept. 23, at the Levitt Center for University Advancement.
Dr. Michael Shy was awarded the prestigious Alan J. Gebhart Prize for Excellence in Peripheral Nerve Research during the awards ceremony at the International Peripheral Nerve Society Annual Meeting
On April 22, Lud Gutmann, MD, led a session entitled "Haiku Cares" at the American Academy of Neurology (virtual) annual conference. The session, led with the help of Leah Acosta, MD (Vanderbilt University), focused on writing poetry, and ended with a 20-minute mini-workshop in writing haiku. The...
Taking a particular type of medication to treat enlarged prostate is associated with a reduced risk of developing Parkinson’s disease, according to a large observational study led by researchers at the University of Iowa.
Three Department of Neurology faculty members are among the 46 Carver College of Medicine faculty recognized in the newly-installed Impact Scholars exhibit , located in the Medical Education and Research Facility (MERF).
What initially began as an everyday annoyance, turned out to be a scientific discovery that has the potential to change the way clot-busting drugs are administered to stroke patients.
Enrique Leira, MD, MS, director of the Division of Cerebrovascular Disease in the University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine Department of Neurology and Head of the UI Health Care Comprehensive Stroke Center, was among a group of leaders in stroke care research who published early recommendations for stroke care during the COVID-19 pandemic.
A team of University of Iowa neurology researchers found that electrical stimulation of the amygdala of an epilepsy patient can stop the patient from breathing without the patient even realizing breathing had stopped.
Congratulations to Gordon Buchanan, MD, PhD, on receiving a fall 2019 Improving Our Workplace Award (IOWA). Buchanan was nominated by Alexandra Petrucci. He will be recognized at an IOWA reception in spring 2020.