Three physicians in OBGYN honored by UIP

The University of Iowa Physicians (UIP) Clinical Awards were established to honor clinical excellence in six categories. Three physicians in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology were honored in 2016. 

David Bender, MD: Clinician of the Year Award

This award is given to a clinician who most embodies those aspects of a truly great patient service provider, including technical skill, humanism to patients and families, collaboration with colleagues, and advocacy.

“To me, an outstanding clinician is someone who has an unwavering effort to want to excel in their field and to connect with their patients.” -David Bender, MD

Watch Dr. Bender's acceptance speech. 

Michael Goodheart, MD: Best Consulting Provider Award

This award is given to an individual in recognition of his or her outstanding consulting or specialized services to the inpatient and ambulatory surgery patients of UI Health Care.

“Being a good consulting physician is somebody who not only keeps the patient informed, but keeps providers informed. After all, it’s a team effort.” –Michael Goodheart, MD

Watch Dr. Goodheart's acceptance speech. 

Craig Syrop, MD: Excellence in our Workplace Award

This award is given to a medical director, whose leadership and innovation demonstrably improves the "practice life" and satisfaction of providers in the delivery of clinical care. 

“Being recognized by your peers is extremely special.. In our organization, what unites people is trying to improve the quality of care or patient experience." –Craig Syrop, MD

Watch Dr. Syrop's acceptance speech. 

Monday, October 17, 2016