Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

Badovinac Lab Wins Multiple Trainee Awards

December 9, 2016

Derek Danahy, Matthew Martin and Isaac Jensen

Derek Danahy received the Graduate College Post-Comprehensive Research Award for the Spring 2017 semester. This award provides post-comprehensive exam students with beneficial time to conduct dissertation research. Derek’s research is further elucidating the numerical and functional alterations of memory CD8 T cells during the state of immunoparalysis after sepsis induction.

Matthew Martin is a recipient of the Department of Health and Human Services Public Health Service Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award 4T32AI007260. Matthew has been working as a postdoctoral research scholar in the laboratory of Vladimir Badovinac since defending his Ph.D. thesis at the University of Iowa in December of 2015. As a postdoctoral scholar, Matthew is examining the biology of CD8 T cells as it relates to protection against infectious disease. His areas of focus include examining time-dependent and antigen stimulation history-dependent alterations in memory CD8 T cell function, memory CD8 T cell-mediated protection against re-infection in outbred vs inbred hosts, and transcriptional regulation of memory CD8 T cell phenotype and function.

Isaac Jensen is one of the recipients of the University of Iowa NIH T32 AI007485, "Predoctoral Training Program in Immunology." He is a second year student in the Immunology Graduate Program. His work in the Badovinac laboratory is in regard to how sepsis impacts Natural Killer cells.