Four Iowa Pathology Residents Win Awards from National Societies

August 21, 2020

Resident Award Winners

Nicole Peyton, MD (PGY-3) was selected to receive one of the Richard Davis awards for her abstract titled, “Dysferlinopathy muscle pathology does not mimic myositis”.  Nicole presented her abstract at American Association of Neuropathologists (AANP) annual meeting held on June 11-14, 2020.  Working with Nicole on this project were Pathology faculty Karra Jones, MD, PhD and Steve Moore, MD, PhD.

Two pathology residents won Paul E. Strandjord Young Investigator Awards for the Academy of Clinical Laboratory Physicians and Scientists (ACLPS) 2020 Annual Meeting.  Due to COVID-19, the ACLPS annual meeting was converted to a virtual conference on June 25, 2020.

Ibrahim Abukhiran, MBBS (PGY-4) had abstract entitled “Patterns of Expression of Follicular Helper T-cell Markers in Reactive and Malignant T-cell Proliferations”.  Pathology faculty mentors were Sergei Syrbu, MD, PhD and Carol Holman, MD, PhD.

Robert Humble, MD (PGY-1) had abstract entitled “Further Characterization of Epstein-Barr Virus Serological Patterns”.  Pathology faculty mentors were Matthew Krasowski, MD, PhD and Bradley Ford, MD, PhD.

Alexandra Isaacson, MD (PGY-3) received a United States & Canadian Academy of Pathology (USCAP) Foundation Travel Award for her presentation entitled “Genomic Profiling of Metastatic Uveal Melanoma Revealed Frequent Co-Existing Mutations of BAP1 and SF3B1 with GNAQ/GNA11 and Potential Correlation with Prognosis”. Pathology faculty mentors were Aaron Bossler, MD, PhD and Deqin Ma, MD, PhD.

Ibrahim Abukhiran, MBBS (PGY-4), won the 4th Place Junior Member Abstract for the College of American Pathologists (CAP) 2020 Annual Meeting.  Ibrahim’s abstract is titled “Comparison of the Performance of Specimens from Core Needle Biopsy, Cell block, and Cytology Smears on Molecular Oncology Testing by Next Generation Sequencing”.  Pathology faculty mentors were Aaron Bossler, MD, PhD and Deqin Ma, MD, PhD.