Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

The Richard G. Lynch, MD Award for Pathology Winners

Richard G Lynch Award Winners

Nicholas Borcherding, MSTP and Chandni Desai, M2, were presented The Richard G. Lynch, MD Award at the 49th Annual Medical Student Research Day (September 15, 2017).

The Department of Pathology sponsors two awards in honor of Richard G. Lynch, MD, for the best poster or oral presentation by a medical student. The award was open to student research in any department in any project area. The presentations were judged by an independent panel of faculty judges and the awards were given to the two top scoring students.

Nicholas Borcherding, MSTP
Poster Presentation:  "Targeting mismatch repair in aggressive basal-like breast cancer"
Mentor:  Weizhou Zhang, PhD - Pathology

Chandni Desai, M2
Poster Presentation:  "CTGF Expression as a prognostic marker in sarcomas"
Mentor: Munir Tanas, MD - Pathology