Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care


Romina Abbasian successfully defended her M.S. thesis on October 20th, 2023 and completed the Pathology M.S. program. Romina’s thesis is entitled Defense Against Bacterial Toxin Secretion Systems . She performed her thesis work in the laboratory of Dr. Dustin Bosch, where she characterized a...
Dr. Ashutosh Mangalam received a four-year VA Merit Award entitled “Role of HLA Class-II Polymorphism in the Regulation of Host-Microbiota Symbiosis”. HLA class-II genes and gut microbiota have emerged as important genetic and environmental factors linked with the pathobiology of multiple sclerosis (MS), a chronic inflammatory disease of the central nervous system that affects around one million people in the US.
Stephanie Peterson successfully defended her PhD thesis in early October and completed the Immunology PhD program. Stephanie’s thesis is entitled A tale of two diets: Divergent effects of fructose and isoflavones in a mouse model of Multiple Sclerosis. She performed her thesis work in the laboratory of Dr. Ashutosh Mangalam where she examined the effects of fructose on the gut microbiome, immune system, and disease outcomes in a mouse model of Multiple Sclerosis. Additionally, Stephanie investigated potential mechanisms of isoflavone-mediated protection in these mouse models.
Nastaran Daneshgar is the recipient of the 2024 spring Graduate College Post-Comprehensive Research Fellowship. The Post-Comprehensive Research Fellowship is awarded to students in recognition of their distinguished academic achievement and to provide protected and supported time to pursue their research activities.
Dr. Alexander Boyden received a one-year RFA research grant award from the National MS Society entitled “Impact of gamma herpesvirus infection on required B cell:CD4 T cell interactions in a novel B cell-dependent, antibody-independent EAE model”.
On September 12, 2023, Dr. Matthew Krasowski was honored with the prestigious 2022 Outstanding Service Award by the Iowa chapter of the American Professional Society on the Abuse of Children (IAPSAC). This accolade serves as a testament to Dr. Krasowski's unwavering dedication to the field of child maltreatment.
Dr. Alexander Boyden received a five-year NIH R01 award entitled “Pathogenic B cell:CD4 T Cell Interactions in a Novel B Cell-dependent EAE Mouse Model of Multiple Sclerosis” from the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Disease (NIAID).
Dr. Ashutosh Mangalam was interviewed on the significance of the microbiome in health and disease for “Health You” a quarterly health publication of the Cedar Rapids Gazette newspaper. In particular, Dr. Mangalam emphasized the critical role our diet plays in shaping our microbiome, which in turn helps to keep us healthy. Additionally, he underscored the need to better understand dysregulation of the microbiome in diseases such as multiple sclerosis, that can help us develop microbiome-based therapies.
The Veterans Health Administration (VHA) Office of the Assistant Under Secretary for Health for Clinical Services recently announced the appointment of Dr. James “Stacey” Klutts as the Deputy National Director of VHA Pathology and Laboratory Medicine Program.
Connor Wilhelm completed the Pathology M.S. program by successfully defending his thesis on June 30th, 2023. He performed his thesis work in the laboratory of Dr. Nitin Karandikar, with additional mentorship from Dr. Alexander Boyden in the Karandikar group. Drs. Ashutosh Mangalam and Scott Lieberman also served on his thesis committee.