Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care


May 28, 2014 Laura Collins, RN, BSN, HP(ASCP), Assistant Manager in the UI DeGowin Blood Center, has been selected as one of the 100 Great Iowa Nurses for 2014.
December 3, 2013 Kaylia Duncan, MS, won the University of Iowa L.B. Sims Outstanding Master's Thesis Award in the Biological Science for her thesis entitled “Dynamics of Tumor Progression And Therapy Response In IL-6 And MYC Driven Plasma Cell Malignancy”.
November 12, 2013 Starting on October 24, the University of Iowa Department of Pathology implemented a new DNA sequencing test for Cancer Mutation Profiling and Interpretation. This is the first clinically validated massively parallel (‘next generation’) DNA sequencing test for cancer to be offered in Iowa.
November 4, 2013 Michael Knudson, MD, PhD, was selected for this year’s Donald D. Dorfman Award for Basic Research for his paper entitled 2-deoxyglucose-induced toxicity is regulated by Bcl-2 family members and is enhanced by antagonizing Bcl-2 in lymphoma cell lines, published in Oncogene.
August 16, 2013 Thomas Waldschmidt Ph.D. has been reappointed as the Clement T. and Sylvia H. Hanson Chair in Immunology...
March 11, 2013 “We are witnessing a revolution in the way we practice medicine—from what we understand about pathogenesis to how we predict, diagnose, and treat diseases. The challenge is to find that right balance between the molecular information we can collect against the information that is most beneficial to our individual patients.” –Jon Heusel, MD, PhD, Molecular Pathologist...