Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care


The Carver College of Medicine Department of Pediatrics is composed of 15 divisions, each with expertise in a different subspecialty of children's health. Divisions are home to both specialists in clinical care as well research teams actively working toward therapies and treatments for many childhood diseases. Together, both strive to provide excellence in the training of the next generation of child health professionals.

Director: Ian Law, MD

Child and Community Health
Director: Thomas Scholz, MD

Critical Care
Director: Sarah Haskell, DO

Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics
Director: Lane Strathearn, MBBS, PhD

Endocrinology and Diabetes
Director: Andrew Norris, MD, PhD

Gastroenterology, Hepatology, Pancreatology, and Nutrition
Director: Aliye Uc, MD

General Pediatrics and Adolescent Medicine
Director: Rami Boutros, MD, MBA

Interim Director: David Dickens, MD

Infectious Disease
Director: Damian Krysan, PhD, MD

Medical Genetics and Genomics
Director: Hatem El-Shanti, MD

Director: Patrick McNamara, MD

Nephrology, Dialysis and Transplantation
Director: Carla Nester, MD, MSA, FASN

Director: Aaron Boes, MD, PhD

Pulmonary Medicine
Interim Director: Scott Sheets, DO

Rheumatology, Allergy, and Immunology
Director: Polly Ferguson, MD