Nine-year-old Virginia Buck does not ask for much for herself. In fact, the only thing she really asks is that you try and understand what she and other kids like her are going through. Virginia is living with Juvenile Huntington disease, a fatal, neurodegenerative genetic disorder that causes problems with walking, talking, thinking and behavior.
Alyssa Wood, DO, MBA, a second-year psychiatry resident, recently earned the Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Award from the Arnold P. Gold Foundation. This award demonstrates the power of Wood’s interactions with medical students and the impact of her influence on their careers.
Peter Daniolos, MD, training director for the Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Residency, recently took time to highlight a new interactive art installation called “Incredible Minds”, created by 60 youth with developmental delays and/or autism, gracing the Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Stewart Conference Room. A full article on the interactive art display can be found in The Gazette.
Hail to the Chief! We are pleased and proud to have a new President in the University of Iowa Department of Psychiatry. Clinical Professor Michael Flaum, MD, was installed recently as President of the American Association of Community Psychiatrists (AACP).
Faculty, friends and family of the Class of 2016 gathered at the University Club on the evening of June 17 to celebrate the graduation of Psychiatry Department residents. This outstanding group was lauded and applauded for repeatedly by the more than 100 in attendance.
A new study suggests there may be an overlap between rare genetic variations linked to bipolar disorder (BD) and those implicated in schizophrenia and autism.
A new study shows the death of newborn brain cells may be linked to a genetic risk factor for five major psychiatric diseases, and at the same time shows a compound currently being developed for use in humans may have therapeutic value for these diseases by preventing the cells from dying.
Samuel Kuperman, MD, Professor of Psychiatry, was recently appointed as a Life Distinguished Fellow by the American Psychiatric Association.
John Wemmie, MD, PhD, has been named president of the prestigious Psychiatric Research Society. Wemmie, a professor in our department, is a psychiatrist and neuroscientist, and serves as Director of the Molecular Psychiatry Division.
Andrew Pieper, MD, PhD, professor of psychiatry and member of the Pappajohn Biomedical Institute, has been selected for membership in the American Society for Clinical Investigation, one of the nation’s oldest and most respected medical honor societies.