Fall 2017 Newsletter

Iowa Urology

Dr. Kreder Welcome to the Fall 2017 newsletter from the University of Iowa Department of Urology.  Our faculty and staff are keenly dedicated to the three missions of an academic medical center—patient care, research, and teaching.  Caring for our patients using the latest and best therapies, chasing answers to elusive clinical issues, and passing along our expertise to the next generation are just part of our daily routines. We don’t often realize how our efforts might be recognized.  In this issue of our biannual newsletter, we are proud to announce a number of such recognitions. U.S. News and World Report has ranked our adult services 31st and pediatric services 36th nationally.  Dr. Michael O'Donnell was appointed the Richard D. Williams Chair in Urology. Dr. James Brown was recognized for his leadership and innovation, and Dr. Chad Tracy received the second of two prestigious UI Health Care teaching awards this year alone.  Phil Ahrens, a surgical technician with the department for over 30 years, received formal recognition of his dedication and skills.  I am proud of all of our faculty and staff, for their dedication and service to the missions of our institution, and I am proud that others have recognized it as well.

Welcome: Fall 2017

Dr. Gina Lockwood

Dr. Gina Lockwood

Dr. Gina Lockwood joined our Pediatric Urology team. Dr. Lockwood completed her urology residency at the Medical College of Wisconsin and a fellowship in pediatric urology at the University of Connecticut and the Connecticut Children’s Medical Center. Dr. Lockwood also earned a Master of Science in Clinical and Translational Research. Read more.

Dr. Paul GellhausDr. Paul Gellhaus

Dr. Paul Gellhaus joined our faculty as a Urologic Oncology specialist. Dr. Gellhaus completed his urology residency at Indiana University and a fellowship in urologic oncology at City of Hope Medical Center, Pasadena, California. Read more.

Dr. Katherine CotterDr. Katherine Cotter

We also welcomed Dr. Katherine Cotter as our 2017-2018 Reconstructive Urology Fellow. Dr. Cotter completed her urology residency at the University of Minnesota

2017 Residents

Dr. Mark BevillDr. Charles PaulDr. Justin DrobishNew interns to the department include Dr. Mark Bevill and Dr. Charles Paul, both graduates of the University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine. Also joining Urology is Dr. Justin Drobish, who earned his medical degree from Michigan State University.

Events: Focus on Men's Health

Men's Health Graphic

This Fall saw increased attention to men’s health.

Dr. Chad Tracy, Dr. Karl Kreder, and Kirin Annam, ARNP, presented at the community health seminar Prostate Cancer and Erectile Dysfunction: Get Your Quality of Life Back. Topics included understanding prostate cancer; advances in prostate cancer diagnosis and treatments, including MRI and Ultrasound; and treatment side effects, including incontinence and erectile dysfunction

In alignment with Movember, a multinational event in which participants grow beards and mustaches to raise awareness of men’s health issues, the department sponsored the campus-wide BeardUp! contest. Additionally, the department held a silent auction in support of a new men’s health fund housed in the University of Iowa Center for Advancement. See more ways to contribute to the Department of Urology.

Honors and Awards

  • U.S.News & World Report has ranked the Department of Urology adult care specialty number 31 and the pediatric care service as number 36 of America's "Best Hospitals." Read more.

  • Dr. Karl Kreder (pictured right) was presented in May with the Victor A. Politano Award at the annual meeting of the American Urological Association. Dr. Kreder was honored for his research and clinical excellence in urinary incontinence. The award, presented annually, is given to an individual for outstanding achievements in the field and for enhancing the treatment of incontinent patients. The awards ceremony was held at the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston.

  • Dr. Michael O’Donnell was awarded the Richard D. Williams Chair in Urology. Dr. Williams began his service at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics in 1984 as the Rubin H. Flocks Professor and head of the University of Iowa, Department of Urology.  The UI Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine, the Department of Urology, and the UI Foundation honored Dr. Williams and his legacy with the Richard D. Williams, M.D., Faculty Fund in the department of urology, which has been converted into the endowed chair.

  • Dr. James Brown was awarded the 2017 Excellence in our Workplace award. Read more.

  • The UI Carver College of Medicine Office of Faculty Affairs and Development awarded teaching honors to Dr. Chad Tracy. Read more.

  • The 2017 Graduate Medical Education (GME) Leadership Symposium awarded Dr. Tracy Excellence in Clinical Coaching. Read more.

  • Phil Ahrens was awarded the 2017 UIHC GME Excellence in Interprofessional Education & Practice Award

Faculty and Research News

  • Dr. Brad Erickson and Dr. J.B. Mason traveled to the West Bank town of Nablus in April as part of a cooperative mission with International Volunteers in Medicine (IVUMed) and the Palestine Children’s Relief Fund, to teach, observe and perform expert urological care. Dr. Erickson serves as leader for a surgical team of experts in urologic reconstructive surgery, urologic oncology and anesthesia. This was Dr. Erickson’s fifth trip to the area.

  • The UI Department of Urology is proud to have been selected as one of only six sites in the nation for this groundbreaking five-year study of the etiology and natural history of urological chronic pelvic pain syndromes (UCPPS). Dr. Karl Kreder, Professor and Head of the UI Department of Urology, serves as Site Director, overseeing the four inter-related studies here at the UI, and coordinating these investigations with off-site researchers in the MAPP (Multidisciplinary Approach to Pelvic Pain) research network.

  • The Department is pleased to announce establishment of the Watts Family Fellowship in Urology. The fund is intended to support Dr. Chad Tracy in pursuit of prostate cancer research, as well as research in minimally invasive surgery.

Alumni Updates

  • Dr. Eric Andresen has joined Unity Point Health at Allen Hospital in Waterloo, Iowa
  • Dr. Laura Bertrand has joined the urology staff at St. Elizabeth’s Physicians in Florence, Kentucky
  • Dr. Vince Chehval has joined Valley Urologic Associates in Phoenix, Arizona