Findings from a UI Health Care study show the use of hospitalists connected by computerized video with physicians and patients in rural hospitals can help improve outcomes for patients, increase patient satisfaction, and reduce costs.
2018 marks the 25th anniversary of the annual Midwest Microbial Pathogenesis Conference (MMPC), with the conference returning to its birthplace at the University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine.
Congratulations to Kanya Ferguson and Denise Martinez—winners of 2018 Forty Under 40 Awards from the Corridor Business Journal.
New research shows effects of prematurity to be more severe for male brains than female brains.
The Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology in the University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine will hold its annual memorial service for the Deeded Body Program at 1:30 p.m. Friday, Sept. 21, at Oakland Cemetery, 1000 Brown St., in Iowa City.
The selection committee for the 2018 Alton Ochsner Award Relating Tobacco Smoking and Diseases is pleased to present its 33rd Annual Award to Eric A. Hoffman, PhD, professor of radiology, medicine, and biomedical engineering, University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine, Iowa City, and to professor Geoffrey T. Fong, PhD, professor of psychology and public health systems, University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Canada.
The American Medical Association recognizes September as Women in Medicine Month to showcase the accomplishments of women physicians, researchers, and teachers.
Iowa City native Sarah Ziegenhorn returned to Iowa City to begin med school and to found the Iowa Harm Reduction Coalition, a group of trained community members seeing that drug users in Iowa City, Cedar Rapids, and Des Moines are connected with needed health and social services.
Two early-career scientists at UI Carver College of Medicine have each received a $30,000 American Cancer Society seed grant to investigate new ideas related to the cause, prevention, and treatment of cancer.
A University of Iowa research team has been awarded a five-year, $11.5 million grant from the National Institutes of Health to continue its work on identifying and developing treatment for the causes of cystic fibrosis (CF) lung disease.