Department Divisions

The Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology is comprised of seven divisions:

General Obstetrics and Gynecology

Provides gynecologic care for all ages and complete care for pregnancy and birth.

Gynecologic Oncology

The concentration of this division is the care of people with gynecologic malignancies.

Maternal-Fetal Medicine

Maternal-Fetal Medicine includes several clinics, including the High Risk Obstetric Clinic, Genetics Clinic, and the Fetal Diagnosis and Treatment Unit.


Certified Nurse-Midwives (CNM) are advanced practice nurses who provide prenatal care, deliver babies, and offer a range of gynecologic services.

Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility

The Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility Division is active with both medical and surgical treatment of the full gamut of reproductive endocrinology and infertility conditions.

Reproductive Science Research

Established in 2009, the division includes five full time research faculty members and numerous faculty with joint appointments in other divisions in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology and in other departments within the University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine. 

Urogynecology and Reconstructive Pelvic Surgery

The Urogynecology and Reconstructive Pelvic Surgery Division offers a number of services through the Urogynecology Clinic for evaluation and management of pelvic floor disorders.