Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care


We have created an environment that encourages our researchers to discover, inspire, and innovate.

We invite you to explore the opportunities awaiting you as a partner in research excellence. Building on our past and present successes, our research agenda is launching the Carver College of Medicine to bold, new heights.

$245.7 Million

External funding for FY2020


Ranking in NIH Funding for FY2020


Ranking in research among public institutions


Overall ranking by the 2022 U.S. News & World Report


Emily Parker, a fourth-year medical student from Johnston, Iowa, didn’t anticipate developing a passion for research during medical school. However, her experience playing Division I women’s basketball at the College of the Holy Cross and while navigating injuries piqued her interest in sports medicine.
Competition and camaraderie were on full display as more than 200 University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine students turned out for the fifth annual Carver Black and Gold Mile Run Sept. 25 at the university’s Francis X. Cretzmeyer Track.
Caleb Escudero, a second-year medical student from Aurora, Illinois, had never participated in research until the summer before he started medical school. He quickly learned that he loved the scientific process of discovering new solutions to complicated problems—such as the common problem of childhood ear infections.


Microbiology and Immunology Seminar: Dr. Vincent Lee, PhD

Tuesday, October 4, 2022, 3:00pm to 4:00pm

Contact Kerry Jones (kerry-jones@uiowa.edu) for the Zoom link.  Pseudomonas aeruginosa signaling, RNA degradation and device associated infections  Vincent Lee, PhD Professor, Department of Cell Biology and Molecular Genetics University of Maryland  

Pain Research Program Seminar - Edgar Romero-Sandoval, MD, PhD

Wednesday, October 5, 2022, 9:00am to 10:00am

"Modulation of pain via immune cell phenotype and the ER stress sensor IRE1a/XBP1s" Presented by Edgar Romero-Sandoval, MD, PhD Associate Professor of Anesthesiology Wake Forest University School of Medicine Winston Salem, NC

Improv Theatre for Communication Skills Series

Wednesday, October 5, 2022, 5:00pm to Wednesday, December 28, 2022, 6:00pm

Do you want to feel more comfortable with public speaking, teaching, and presentations? Join other graduate students and postdocs for improvisation drop-in sessions where we will use improv theatre games to help you improve your confidence in public speaking, answering questions, and communicating your research to broad audiences. Sessions will be led by Lisa Kelly, Associate Artistic Director of Theatre Cedar Rapids and the UI CIRTL Coordinator, and Kristy Hartsgrove Mooers, UI Theatre ...