Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

Faculty Service Award


Voluntary faculty service is critical to the effective functioning of the College.  The purpose of this award is to annually acknowledge a faculty member who has made a significant and sustained contribution to the College of Medicine in the area of service.  This award will complement the John P. Long Basic Science Teaching Award and the Dr. Ernest O. Theilen Clinical Teaching and Service Award.


Nominees must have a University based faculty appointment, in either the tenure track or the salaried clinical track.  Nominees should have a record of multiple service activities, or a single major activity, over a sustained period.  The primary type of service for which this award is intended includes non-compensated work on, for example, committees and ad hoc projects, and other types of leadership roles undertaken for the benefit of the College.  Other Collegiate awards recognize clinical service and teaching per se, and so these are not the primary types of service referred to.  Individuals who will be eligible for this award will often have a record of excellent service to their department, their discipline, the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, and/or the larger University community.  Although these activities should be included as supporting evidence by the nominator, there must be a clear record of important service to the College.

Nomination and Selection Process

The Office of Faculty Affairs and Development will inform faculty members of the request to seek nominations (defined as those faculty members who meet the criteria for voting in the College of Medicine Manual of Procedure).  Nominations will be accepted until 5:00 pm, on Friday, December 1, 2023.  Nominees shall be active faculty members, and shall not be a current department chair, dean, or members of the Awards Review Committee.  Faculty members may not nominate themselves.  Unsuccessful nominations from the years may be revised and resubmitted, with no limit on the number of times a faculty member may be nominated.  The most recent nomination will remain active for a period of 2 years following submission.  Committee members will be ineligible to participate in the nomination process during their tenure on the committee.

The following materials should be included for a nomination:

  • A letter from the primary nominator, recounting the nominee's qualifications
  • The curriculum vitae of the nominee
  • Two additional letters of recommendation

Forward the nomination packet via email to CCOM-OFAD@uiowa.edu.

The final selection will be made January, 2024.  The Dean will present the award to the recipient at the Celebration of Excellence in Research, Scholarship, Teaching and Service event in April.


The awardee will receive a plaque indicating the name of the award and the recipient's name.  The awardee's name will also be listed on a plaque to be placed in a suitable prominent place in the College of Medicine).  The awardee will receive $1,000 from the Dean's Faculty Development Fund.  The Executive Committee and the Dean will review the amount of the award every three years.


Year Name Department
2022 Aloysius Klingelhutz Microbiology and Immunology
2021 Tina Tootle Anatomy and Cell Biology
2020 David Weiss Microbiology and Immunology
2019 Marc Wold Biochemistry
2018 Steven Anderson Neurology
2017 Daniel Weeks Biochemistry
2016 Edwin Stone Opthalmology & Visual Sciences
2015 Noelle Bowdler Obstetrics and Gynecology
2014 Eva Tsalikian Pediatrics
2013 D. Lee Bennett  Radiology
2012 Madeline Shea Biochemistry
2011   Beverly Davidson  Internal Medicine
2010 Peter Rubenstein  Biochemistry
2009 Todd Burstain  Internal Medicine
2008 Georges El-Khoury  Radiology
2007 Claibourne Dungy Pediatrics
2006 Pamela Geyer  Biochemistry
2005 Richard LeBlond  Internal Medicine
2004 Robert Rodnitzky  Neurology
2003 Craig Porter Pediatrics
2002 Thomas Schmidt Physiology and Biophysics
2001 Kimberly Ephgrave  Surgery
2000 David Rosenthal  Family Medicine
1999 Leon Burmeister  Preventative Medicine and Environmental Health
1998 Janet Schlechte  Internal Medicine