Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care


The youngest class member is 20, the oldest is 43. The average age of class members is 23. A total of 26% are ethnic minorities or from an under-represented group in medicine. Females make up 51 percent of the class. Read more.
University of Iowa stroke researchers have received a five-year, $1.5 million competitive grant renewal from the National Institutes of Health to continue to run a research infrastructure of 12 hospitals in Iowa, Nebraska, and North Dakota aiming to generate and efficiently perform clinical trials in acute stroke treatment, stroke prevention, and recovery.
Neuroscience graduate student Benjamin De Corte has won the Iowa Neuroscience Institute Kwak-Ferguson Fellowship for his research on the cognitive symptoms seen in disorders that disrupt the striatum in the brain.
The New York Academy of Medicine has awarded its prestigious 2018 Lewis Rudin Glaucoma Prize to Val C. Sheffield, MD, director of the Division of Medical Genetics in the UI Stead Family Department of Pediatrics, for his groundbreaking research on glaucoma treatment.
Patricia Austin, MD, a 1974 UI Carver College of Medicine graduate, has been elected president of the American Medical Association Foundation, serving a one-year term following her current year as president-elect.
The University of Iowa is expanding its role in a network of neurological research centers funded by the National Institutes of Health. The funding for NeuroNEXT, includes clinical trials for brain, nerve, and muscle disorders.
Iowa State University and the University of Iowa, have awarded seed grants to help investigators from both schools build teams, collect data, and grow projects in four general areas: antimicrobial research, vaccines and immunotherapy, brain science, and medical devices.
Victoria Stephens recently completed the Post-Baccalaureate Research Education Program (PREP). This program is designed for recent graduates from traditionally underrepresented groups in biomedical fields to gain experience before entering graduate school.
Jill Endres, clinical professor and director of medical student education in the Department of Family Medicine, has participated in RAGBRAI for more than ten years. Learn why Endres loves RAGBRAI and how she believes it does more than promote tourism for Iowa.
For the sixth year in a row, the Family Medicine Interest Group (FMIG) has received the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) overall Program of Excellence Award.