Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

Van Beek Named Secretary-Treasurer of the American Academy of Dermatology

Dr. Marta Van BeekThe American Academy of Dermatology announced that Marta J. Van Beek, MD, MPH, FAAD, will begin a three-year term as secretary-treasurer for the organization.

Van Beek is the chief of staff for University of Iowa Hospitals & Clinics as well as the C. William Hanke Professor of Dermatologic Surgery, and director of the dermatologic surgery division in the Carver College of Medicine. She previously served the academy as assistant-secretary treasurer and chair of the Council on Government Affairs and Health Policy.

She will help lead the world’s largest dermatologic society, representing more than 20,000 physicians specializing in the diagnosis and medical, surgical and cosmetic treatment of skin, hair, and nail conditions. The academy strives to provide high quality clinical practice, education, and research in medical dermatology, surgical dermatology, and dermatopathology.

Van Beek will also hold the same position for the American Academy of Dermatology Association, a sister organization to the Academy that focuses on government affairs, health policy, and practice information.

Thursday, July 11, 2019