Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care


In its latest listing of “Best Graduate Schools,” U.S. News & World Report ranks the 6 medical school programs nationally ranked—with 2 in the top 5.
Lucille (Luci) Howard grew up in Clutier, Iowa, a small, rural town with a population of 200 people. The daughter of a cake decorator and iron manufactory worker, Lucille was the first in her family to pursue higher education.
The transition to medical school can be tough. For Kalyn Campbell, a fourth-year student in the Carver College of Medicine, it helped to know she wasn’t alone.
For fourth-year Carver College of Medicine student Victor Hatcher, the biggest takeaway from his time at Iowa has been the opportunities he’s been given.
Finding could help predict risk for sudden unexpected death due to epilepsy (SUDEP).
Approximately 150 fourth-year medical students at the University of Iowa Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine will learn where they’ll be going for their residency training.
Where an extremely preterm infant is born and how the infant is cared for play a major role in how well that infant does, according to researchers from University of Iowa Stead Family Children’s Hospital.
By studying the sick hearts removed from four patients undergoing heart transplants, researchers have identified a protein and a signaling pathway that may contribute to sudden death in an inherited form of heart disease.
Laura Stephens was drawn to Iowa for graduate school because of the collaboration that happens across campus. She loves it here because she gets to work with so many talented people, plus the many opportunities for learning and fun she has in Iowa City.
Get to know Jinha Park, MD, PhD, clinical associate professor of radiology – division of body imaging.