Search begins for next Department of Surgery chair and DEO

Date: Thursday, March 28, 2024


Matthew Howard, MD
Matthew Howard, MD

A search committee has been named, starting the national search for the next Department of Surgery chair and departmental executive officer.

UI Health Care will begin a national search for the next chair and departmental executive officer of the Department of Surgery. This leadership position will oversee daily operations, strategic planning, and financial management of the department.

Matthew Howard, MD, professor and chair of the Department of Neurosurgery, and Douglas Van Daele, MD, vice dean for clinical affairs and executive director of UI Physicians, will serve as co-chairs of the search committee.

Douglas Van Daele, MD
Douglas Van Daele, MD

Joining Howard and Van Daele on the committee will be:

  • Emily Blomberg, MHA, chief operating officer
  • Mark Henrichs, chief financial officer
  • Michael Henry, PhD, professor, Department of Molecular Physiology and Biophysics
  • Gina Lockwood, MD, MS, clinical associate professor, Department of Urology
  • Nick Mohr, MD, professor, Department of Emergency Medicine
  • Rachael Nicholson, MD, clinical professor, Department of Surgery
  • Kalpaj Parekh, MBBS, professor and chair, Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery
  • Cynthia Wong, MD, professor and chair, Department of Anesthesia

The firm Spencer Stuart has been selected to assist with the search process.

The new department chair and DEO will succeed Ronald Weigel, MD, PhD, MBA, FACS, who will step down as leader of the department on May 1 and remain a part-time faculty member, continuing his research activities.

An interim chair and DEO will be named in the coming weeks.