Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

Three students receive 2020-2021 Scot Heery Scholarships

Date: Tuesday, September 1, 2020

Scot Heery Scholarship 2020-2021 recipients

The Department of Radiology announces the recipients of the Scot Heery Scholarships for the 2020-21 academic year. The three applicants whose work ethic and daily commitment to quality patient care most closely aligned with the values and character that Scot Heery portrayed in his distinguished career and expected of Radiation Sciences students are (in alphabetical order):

  • Madison Graeve—Radiologic Technology/ CT
  • Miranda Olson—Radiologic Technology/CVI
  • Conner Wharff— Radiologic Technology/ MRI

The funding of these $5000 awards comes from a generous gift presented to the University of Iowa Center for Advancement in Heery’s name by an anonymous donor. The Scholarship’s Selection Committee, comprised of 7 individuals, received and reviewed applications from many extremely qualified and deserving students, making the selection process a difficult one.

Scot Heery, RT(R)(CT), was a senior imaging technologist in the Department of Radiology at University of Iowa Hospitals & Clinics.  He worked in the department for over 30 years, with expertise in Computed Tomography and dedication to excellence in patient care.