Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

Physical Activity

Wei Bao, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor of Epidemiology
wei-bao@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Maternal obesity, gestational diabetes, childhood obesity, life course, transgenerational effects, dietary pattern, environmental obesogen, endocrine disruptor
Dr. Barbara Baquero Barbara Baquero, PhD, MPH
Associate Professor of Community and Behavioral Health
barbara-baquero@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Design, implementation, and evaluation of community-based interventions for obesity and chronic disease prevention and control
Lucas Carr, PhD
Associate Professor of Health and Human Physiology
lucas-carr@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Behavioral interventions to prevent and treat obesity
Darren Casey, PhD
Assistant Professor of Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Science
darren-casey@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Obesity and Vascular Health
Mark Chapleau, PhD
Professor of Internal Medicine - Cardiovascular Medicine & Molecular Physiology and Biophysics
mark-chapleau@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Neural mechanisms in obesity hypertension
Vanessa Curtis, MD
Clinical Associate Professor of Pediatrics - Endocrinology and Diabetes
vanessa-curtis@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Clinical pediatric obesity program
Dr. David Frisvold David Frisvold, PhD
Associate Professor of Economics
david-frisvold@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Understanding how policy interventions influence obesity-related behavior
Helena Laroche, MD
Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine & Pediatrics
helena-laroche@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Community and family approaches to obesity prevention
Vitor Lira, PhD Vitor Lira, PhD
Assistant Professor of Health and Human Physiology
vitor-lira@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Skeletal and cardiac muscle function and metabolism
Peter Nau, MD, MS
Clinical Associate Professor-Bariatric, Gastrointestinal, and Minimally-Invasive Surgeon
peter-nau@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Outcomes in bariatric surgery
Isaac Samuel, MD Isaac Samuel, MD, FRCS, FACS
Professor of Surgery - Gastrointestinal, Minimally invasive and Bariatric Surgery
isaac-samuel@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Benefits of weight reduction and metabolic surgery
Richard Shields, PT, PhD
Professor & DEO of Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Science
richard-shields@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Obesity impacts skeletal muscle metabolism in people with disability
William Sivitz, MD
Professor of Internal Medicine - Endocrinology and Metabolism
william-sivitz@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Mitochondrial function, Oxidative Stress, and Nutrition
Eric Taylor, PhD
Associate Professor of Biochemistry
eric-taylor@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: To discover molecular mechanisms to modulate mitochondrial metabolism to treat human disease
Leonid Zingman, MD
Associate Professor of Internal Medicine - Cardiovascular Medicine
leonid-zingman@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Skeletal muscle KATP channels determine bodily energy balance