Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

Basic Science

E. Dale Abel, MD, PhD
Professor & DEO of Internal Medicine, Professor of Biochemistry & Biomedical Engineering
Director, Fraternal Order of Eagles Diabetes Research Center
drcadmin@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Investigate the importance of mitochondrial oxidative stress as a major mechanism leading to cardiac dysfunction in obesity and diabetes
Christopher Adams, MD, PhD
Professor of Internal Medicine - Endocrinology and Metabolism & Molecular Physiology and Biophysics
christopher-adams@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Anti-obesity effects of skeletal muscle growth
Gail Bishop, PhD
Professor of Microbiology & Internal Medicine
gail-bishop@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Role of inflammation & immune cells; interaction with microbiome
Ryan Boudreau, PhD
Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine - Cardiovascular Medicine
ryan-boudreau@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Post-transcriptional gene regulation and novel genes in diabetes and obesity
Charles Brenner, PhD Charles Brenner, PhD
Professor & DEO of Biochemistry, Professor of Internal Medicine
charles-brenner@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Accelerating metabolism with nicotinamide riboside
Mark Chapleau, PhD
Professor of Internal Medicine - Cardiovascular Medicine & Molecular Physiology and Biophysics
mark-chapleau@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Neural mechanisms in obesity hypertension
Huxing Cui, PhD
Assistant Professor of Pharmacology
huxing-cui@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Brain control of appetite, metabolism and cardiovascular function
Brandon Davies, PhD Brandon Davies, PhD
Assistant Professor of Biochemistry
brandon-davies@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Regulation of Vascular Triglcyeride Metabolism
Justin Grobe, PhD
Associate Professor of Pharmacology
justin-grobe@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Neural control of cardiometabolic function, and quantifying anaerobic metabolism
Chad Grueter, PhD Chad Grueter, PhD
Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine - Cardiovascular Medicine
chad-grueter@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Cardiac transcriptional regulation of metabolism
A. Kim Johnson, PhD Alan Kim Johnson, PhD
F. Wendell Miller Distinguished Professor of Physiological & Brain Sciences
alan-johnson@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Salt Craving; Obesity-Induced Sensitization of the Hypertensive Response
Aloysius Klingelhutz , PhD
Professor of Microbiology & Radiation Oncology
al-klingelhutz@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Environmental/bacterial toxins in adipose dysfunction and diabetes
Anne Kwitek, PhD
Associate Professor of Pharmacology & Internal Medicine
anne-kwitek@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Identifying genetic factors for hypertension, obesity, and metabolic syndrome
Kathryn Lamping, PhD
Associate Professor of Internal Medicine - Cardiovascular Medicine & Pharmacology
kathryn-lamping@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Effect of dietary fatty acids on vascular function
Vitor Lira, PhD Vitor Lira, PhD
Assistant Professor of Health and Human Physiology
vitor-lira@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Skeletal and cardiac muscle function and metabolism
Allyn Mark, MD Allyn Mark, MD
Professor of Internal Medicine - Cardiovascular Medicine
allyn-mark@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Neural and humoral mechanisms of obesity-induced hypertension
Mohamad Mokadem, MD Mohamad Mokadem, MD
Clinical Associate Professor of Internal Medicine - Gastroenterology and Hepatology
mohamad-mokadem@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Understanding the regulatory mechanism of gastric bypass on energy and glucose metabolism
Andrew Norris, MD, PhD
Professor of Pediatrics - Endocrinology and Diabetes & Biochemistry
andrew-norris@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Developmental aspects of insulin resistance
Matthew Potthoff, PhD
Associate Professor of Pharmacology
matthew-potthoff@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Regulation of Nutrient Metabolism and Energy Homeostasis
Kamal Rahmouni, PhD
Professor of Pharmacology & Internal Medicine
kamal-rahmouni@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Neural Control of Metabolism in Health and Disease
Robert Roghair, MD
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
robert-roghair@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Neonatal Origins of Obesity
Thomas Rutkowski, PhD
Associate Professor of Anatomy and Cell Biology
thomas-rutkowski@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Relationship between ER stress, obesity, and liver disease
Isaac Samuel, MD Isaac Samuel, MD, FRCS, FACS
Professor of Surgery - Gastrointestinal, Minimally invasive and Bariatric Surgery
isaac-samuel@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Benefits of weight reduction and metabolic surgery
Patrick Schlievert, PhD
Professor & DEO of Mircobiology, Professor of Internal Medicine
patrick-schlievert@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Bacterial Causes of Diabetes Mellitus II
Julien Sebag, PhD Julien Sebag, PhD
Assistant Professor of Molecular Physiology and Biophysics
julien-sebag@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Regulation of energy homeostasis by GPCR accessory proteins
Val Sheffield, MD, PhD
Professor of Pediatrics & Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences
val-sheffield@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Intracellular Transport and Cilia function in obesity, hypertension and diabetes
William Sivitz, MD
Professor of Internal Medicine - Endocrinology and Metabolism
william-sivitz@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Mitochondrial function, Oxidative Stress, and Nutrition
Douglas Spitz, PhD
Professor of Radiation Oncology
douglas-spitz@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Ketogenic diets in cancer therapy
Stefan Strack, PhD
Professor of Pharmacology & Pathology
stefan-strack@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Neurological comorbidities of diabetes
Eric Taylor, PhD Eric Taylor, PhD
Associate Professor of Biochemistry
eric-taylor@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: To discover molecular mechanisms to modulate mitochondrial metabolism to treat human disease
Ling Yang, PhD
Assistant Professor of Anatomy and Cell Biology
ling-yang@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Organelle stress response in Obesity
Mark Yorek, PhD
Professor of Internal Medicine - Endocrinology and Metabolism
mark-yorek@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Effect of obesity on vascular and neural complications
Liping Yu, PhD
Adjunct Professor of Biochemistry
liping-yu@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Mitochondrial function and metabolism
Leonid Zingman, MD
Associate Professor of Internal Medicine - Cardiovascular Medicine
leonid-zingman@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Skeletal muscle KATP channels determine bodily energy balance