Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

Carver College of Medicine recognizes faculty as Impact Scholars

stethoscope and papers
Date: Wednesday, February 26, 2020

The University of Iowa Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine will honor 47 of its faculty as the college’s inaugural group of Impact Scholars—researchers who have made a major scientific impact over the course of their careers. 

The honorees will be added to a newly created commemorative space in the Medical Education and Research Facility (MERF).

Impact Scholars are selected based on the Hirsch index, also known as the H-index, which represents the number of research papers a faculty member has published, and the papers’ impact as gauged by how many times they have been cited by other scientists and scholars in subsequent research articles. 

For example, a researcher with an H-index of 50 has published at least 50 articles that each have been cited at least 50 times. An H-index increases as multiple papers are cited multiple times. The H-index calculations for the Carver College of Medicine Impact Scholars are based on research abstract and citation data from Scopus.

The Impact Scholars are current Carver College of Medicine faculty who have achieved H-index scores of 100 or higher (“gold” level) and 50 or higher (“silver” level).

Following is the inaugural list of faculty members to be honored:

Gold Level

Silver Level

Honorees will be recognized annually as new faculty achieve an h-index of 50 or higher, or as current honorees reach an h-index of 100 or higher.